Rhino roof Rack and off road capacity being de-rated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rhino roof Rack and off road capacity being de-rated

This is a letter I have posted to Rhino Racks after watching the Tyler Thompson Video.
    I will update if I get a reply.

[email protected]rhinorack.com.au

Hello,

I’m the owner of a Rhino platform fitted to a Mitsubishi Pajero using the Rhino backbone.
    I have watched the Tyler Thompson and Ronny Dahl video’s.
    These are concerning,
    Like these 2 people I was not aware of the on and off road rating for Rhino racks.
    However unlike these 2 people I’m also an Engineer.
    In the case of myself with an NX Pajero, the calculation for the off road rating seems to be highly conservative without science behind it.
    I purchased the backbone and the Rhino system for the Pajero as it used the original manufacture’s bolt holes with what appears to be the same size bolts thinking that if the system is using the same fixing method as the manufacture their would be no structural concerns.
    1. The Rhino back for the Pajero uses the original vehicle holes for mounting the backbone, using near identical nuts and bolts.
    2. The bolts that attach the Rhino platform to the Rhino back are more than sufficient to hold 10 times the dynamic load that would be applied in an off road situation.
    3. The weak point off road under dynamic loading is likely to be the roof itself that may suffer metal fatigue over time, however this fatigue would equally happen using the Rhino system or the original roof rails.
    4. A 6mm metric bolt can hold 5kn, There are 5 on each rail so that’s 2.5T of capacity per rail so 5 T of tensile force enough to lift the car up and 2.3Kn in shear so being 5 each side 1.25T of shear weight could be applied to each side.