Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Airbag (SRS) Problem

Hi All,
    Just thought I would share my airbag experience with my NL.
    SRS light came on ages ago, got our mechanic to clear the code while doing a service, light stayed out for a long time, thought that was the end of it.

Months later, light come back on, got code cleared, come straight back.
    Took it to an auto electrician to investigate. I am an electronics technician, not knowing a great deal about airbags and wanting to avoid having one deply in my face at 300mph I decided to leave it the the "professionals". I had suspected the clock spring was at fault as the light would come on after hitting the horn (the wife suffer's road rage). I had organized an appointment at the auto elect's to check if the clock spring was faulty, not to do anything else - for this I was quoted $40. Got the missus to drop off the car - big mistake, apparently to some trades people this means do what you want and let the apprentice work unsupervised on your car. She went back an hour later, the steering wheel was off, radio was removed, whole center console was out, glove box removed, passenger side airbag was removed. He reassembled car while the wife watched. End result; scratched trim panels, pry marks in plastic panels where he had been levering at joins the are fixed with screws!?! I went in the next day to find out the full story, was told it needed the clockspring ($380), may have damaged the SRS ECU ($900), not sure about airbag? For investigating this they wanted me to pay $130 (the scratches and trim damage were free)........bullshit to that!