No announcement yet.

Help - Brake master cylinder problem ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help - Brake master cylinder problem ?

Hi folks,

hoping someone can give me some advice....

my NM Pajero (2002 Exceed, ABS etc) suddenly developed a braking problem when I was away on holidays over xmas. Now I'm no mechanic, which will no doubt become obvious, but I'm hoping someone may have an idea of what the problem could be.

The problem started one morning when I went to go into town to get some supplies (which is over a pretty rough dirt track). The first time I hit the brakes, when I released the brake pedal it made a very strange scraping/vibrating sound. Further investigation identified that the sound is coming from the black dome shapped 'object' on the side of the hydraulic brake booster, and it shakes when the sound is made. The sound happens every time you release the brakes. Further, and more disconcertingly, you can with a constant fairly heavy pressure get the brake pedal to the floor! (takes a few seconds though). Apart from that the brakes actually feel and work OK, and I made it home!

There are no dash lights showing any problems, although you can get the the ABS light to come on when you push the pedal to the floor, and it goes out again when you release the pedal. I assume this is an oil pressure problem ?

The oil level in the braking system is OK, and it hasn't lost any oil.

My guess at the moment is that maybe a small amount of oil is leaking past the piston when you press on the brakes? or perhaps it is a problem with the hydraulic pump?

Anyone have any suggestions ? I took the car to a couple of mechanics between xmas and New Year in Ulladulla (south of Sydney) but neither had much idea. One suggested the whole brake unit would have to be replaced! $$$$$