Extra low ratio gears & sand driving

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extra low ratio gears & sand driving

I have NL with extra low ratio gears in transfer case (from Marks Adaptors)
    I have not had them installed for very long and I'm after advise on driving on soft sand towing a camper trailer. Should I use low range or high range??? (Vehicle is auto)
    The gearing is so low that I wonder if I might be better attemping a long, soft sand, hill climb in high/first to gather momention, or is low/drive to go let the auto box do its thing.
    I'm new to sand driving so any advise will be great.
    Regards Loughma

After my experience on Fraser Island the best advice to prevent getting bogged was to drive the vehicle like you don't own it through the bad sections. This was generally in Low Range second gear.

Comment

Let all tyres down (including trailer) to about 14psi is a good start. I would use high range unlocked centre.
      --
      Marquis
      SOLD - NT MY10 DiD, ARB D/Bar, Airtec, LRA 81L, Bil/Lov 2", BCDC1220+AGM, P3

Comment

Trial and error, you'll soon find out wat works best for you. For me i find low range to be the way to go, the less strain the better.

Comment

I work in a sand mine on North Stradbroke Island. We drive all the vehicles in high range centre locked. Tyres around 18 psi, as these vehicles also see the bitumen between mine sites.

We will let the tyres down lower if its a particularly nasty day (windy dry sand) and as I'm a surveyor in the exploration I have to sometimes use low range massaging the revs to get started in steep sections.

With the trailer I would recommend low range, not sure if Pajeros have a lockout of first gear like Toyota, but I would do this in your situation (extra low range gearing) The auto box loves sand, and as long as you are gentle on the start offs you will be fine.