89 Turbo diesel with turbo not working

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 89 Turbo diesel with turbo not working

G'day, I test drove a 1989 Pajero TD yesterday....the car and the engine seemed immaculate until I drove it and the turbo did not work at all, no matter what the RPM. Wondered if this was a common problem and if it means a turbo replacement? Can it have damaged the engine?

i got a 89 intercooled turbo deisel and my turbo works fine starts spooling at bout 1800rpm i really dont think it could have damaged the motor but a reco turbo will set u back bout $700 it the turbo has blown or anything im guessing it will be smoky but then again i could be wrong im new to 4x4 and im no machanic ask around go to ur local 4x4 shop and ask them and see how u go mayb u could get it alot cheaper due to the turbo problem.

but they r good trucks i havent had a problem with mine and it take me everythere the patrol and landcruises do haha for half the $$ hahahaha.
    89 LWB pajero 2.5lt DTI 2 inch suspension 2 inch body safari snorkle.

Comment

this one is not intercooled but i did drive another one earlier in the day and yeah i agree the turbo kicked in at about 1800RPM. maybe you could answer this though - is it normal to have a bit of a hissing type noise at the high RPM range which sounds like air escaping....is that just the turbo dumping excess air?

Comment

i really have no idea to be honest but while im on boost u can hear the turbo spool like the winding sound they make u know it haha zzzzzzzz somthing like that i got a boost gauge and it shows 10psi not bad for standard.

why dont u try taking a make that knows 4x4 or turbos or get an racv test they cost bout $120 somthing like that not to sure.

so how did u compare the intercooler to the non intercooler if u can notice any difference with the turbo problem or mayb this is a stupid Question haha.

Comment

hi there timsy