Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1998 nl

Good Evening from Northern NSW.
    I have been hanging around this site for a few years now, from owning an Early Pajero Diesel, then moving on to a couple of Triton, then A couple of Challengers to a couple of Delica's. The Forum helped me sort out a few V6 Engine Issues.
    My passion is now dare I say, Series Land Rovers.
    Later In the year my Nephew is coming over from the UK for a Few month, and want him to have some independence.
    I started looking around and a 1998 NL Auto with 238,000 on the clock came up local to me. I went and had a quick look, last week and its a bit rough, but no apparent rust, was NSW blue slipped 12 months ago but never Registered. Bought with overheating issues from Its previous owner, who had put in a new Radiator, water pump, Timing belt, plugs and leads done at 203,000 and new Alternator, but still had overheating issues. The current owner never sorted the overheating issue out. He had put on 5 new tyres that probably have no wear, an alloy bullbar and large roof basket. The Pajero has been into the Local Servo, who claims they cannot find a Blown Head Gasket issue, but apparently after a 20 minute run it steams out of the Overflow bottle.
    I took my jack over today and checked steering, bearings, drive shaft/Diff back lash and all seems sound. Drive down the road, and Auto Gearbox was smooth and quiet, Kick down worked well as did going in and out of High/low range. Hold and Power button seemed to be ok. Motor runs smooth and quiet, no wobble on the crankshaft pulley.
    The owner accepted my offer, which was a lot lower than the asking price, as he was 'Fed up with It'.
    I will pick it up with my car Trailer Friday and Post up some Pics.
    the First question is, what would be a good workshop manual I can Purchase, and from where ? would a Haynes be OK for my needs which may include replacing Head Gaskets ?