Just Bought a 93 NH LWB TD for Charity Rally

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just Bought a 93 NH LWB TD for Charity Rally

Hi everyone, my name is Shad and I'm BRAND NEW to 4x4 and I know pretty much nothing about them!! A little about myself, I am 30y/o I am a Hotel Licensee in Wollongong NSW, I drive a VY SS Ute and I love playing computer games! I have purchased this Pajero to compete in those various charity rallies that run annually, they look like alot of fun. Plus taking weekend expeditions. There is alot I want to do to it, e.g. lifting it a little, bigger wheels, snorkel, bullbar, winch, spotlights etc. All of which I am starting to learn about

Just tonight I went and paid for my ebay purchase, a 93 NH LWB 2.5TD. It only cost me $1,500 but it has a problem. It is currently not running, The previous owner was driving and it overheated blowing the radiator cap off and the engine shut down and wouldn't start again. He has pulled the head off the engine, looking at the cylinders there is no scoring and no slop in the pistons. He turned the engine over with the key and the pistons move smoothly with no noises. The surface of the head looks good too but of course this will need checking properly. I've got a friend who is an engine rebuilder going to take a look at it in the next couple of days.

In the mean time any ideas as to what it could possibly be? I've had a couple people say it could be as simple as the rings? as diesels rely heavily on compression to run? I assume if it was a major problem I would hear alot of noises when the engine turns? I have no idea. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Look forward to hearing peoples feedback. And am glad to be part of your forum, thank you
    Attached Files
    LoRd ShAdDa -

93 NH TD 5spd LWB
    93 NH V6 5spd SWB