Finally got a Paj!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally got a Paj!

Hi all. I'm a newbie owner of a '94 LWB GLX Paj (manual). I have had a heap of fun over the last few years in a Subaru L series that was amazing and would go just about anywhere (with a few modifications), but just wasn't big enough or tough enough for serious long-term off-roading.

Anyway, just bought this great vehicle for a good price. Excellent condition and runs like a new car. I don't think it's ever been off road more than a couple of times (I'll soon fix that!) and is nice and straight all-round.

At the moment it's pretty standard, apart from beefed up suspension in the rear.

I'm getting 16" alloy rims and new Goodyear Wranglers put on (new Silent Armours). I was wondering about the traction department. I am pretty sure it has a LSD, but I am looking to put a locker in the front at some stage (probably ARB air locker).

Any other tips on what you guys would recommend as mods, accessories etc. to make it a nice off-roader without sacrificing every-day driveability?

Cheers. Steve.

Another NJ Paj!

They ahve to be one of the most reliable Paj's around ... JMO 'cause I've got one!

Not sure what size tyres you have but certainly 31" would be good ... I have 15" rims and find with the 31" rubber it's very good on sand (still get bogged tho'!).

I've also got 2" suspension lift which makes it sit quite high ... again very handy and no extra noticeable fuel useage. With stronger suspension it is much better to tow as well.

LR 140ltr tank if you can afford it is very good ... gives you 1000km range (not towing).

I don't have diff lockers largely due to the age of the car ... not sure how the old diffs would handle it.

2.5" exhaust is VERY handy (sounds good too!) and I even found a fuel saving of half a litre per 100k.

Good luck and happy 'Pajing'!

Scol.

Comment

Originally posted by jusluvfishin View Post