Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paj -a protector of the unskilled, and some questions

Hi,
    Due to kids' school/ activities etc only this weekend we are able to finally attend the 4WD driver's training, and wooooow, that car (at least the NP model as that's what we have) is quite a wonder. There were 12 or so of us in the convoy (class), and I was the only one with Paj, the rest was Prados, LC100, Hiluxes, and Patrols. Not that the others are not good, but for me being a beginner, I was helped so often by the Traction Control, when trying all those hair raising downhill descent (we almost stood on the firewall), uphill on loose and slippery slopes, working hard and narrow terrains. That car never missed a beat and at least on 3 occasions I knew full well I made it thanks to the technology and good luck more than the driver's skill. Now it seems so relevant all those talks about diff breather extension, bullbar, towbar, mild suspension lift, snorkel. I am sure the Toyotas, Nissans, Mitsubishis, etc each all have it's own strength and weaknesses but surely I was impressed by the Paj! Over the radio on that day I was referred to as "the guy with traction control"

Following that comment above, I wonder if anybody could please share on the following points. Please note my aim is for a light / medium 4WDing and touring, maybe focusing on short term (weekends or a couple of days) trips (no Simpson Desert etc).

1. Towbar. I definitely plan to install a hitch/receiver style mainly for rear recovery point so please, if have any comments, recommendations. I got 2 quotes, Hayman Reese and ARB Towmaster. The ARB guy told it is a heavy duty unit, haven't asked what it means. The H. Reese guy told it is rated at 2.5 tons.

2. Bull bar and mild suspension lift
    Now this is more a "wish list" for me. The idea is for a winch bar (although the winch is not really planned, but "just in case"). It is expected for improved front-end protection.