Tyre Inflation Pressures

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tyre Inflation Pressures

I'm no expert on cars but the recommended tyre pressures on the inside of the door frame have somewhat baffled me. They recommend anywhere between 200 and 300 kilopascals depending on what you are carrying/towing. 200 equates to 29psi. I thought that sedans usually have their tyres inflated to 32psi and that 4wd would have a higher pressure. I was always told to pump up my old NE Pajero to 40psi for road driving and less for offroad action. I am assuming that these tyres are different spec to the old Pajero's tyres.

For road driving, what should I be pumping my stock standard NS Pajero tyres to? Also should the pressure be the same for all 4 tyres or different for front/rear?

Every tyre is different. The tyre placard only relates to the standard OEM tyres supplieid by MM.

I run my LT Coopers at 36psi normally. Seems to give good wear for me.

If you're uncertain what to run, try the 4psi test.
    Start out with your tyres at a given cold pressure, say 34psi.
    Go for a good drive, say 50K or so then measure your pressures.
    If the increase in pressure (due to tyre temperature increase) is 4psi then you have the correct starting pressure. If the increase is greater than 4psi your starting pressure was too low causing too much tyre flex, hence too much heat. Try again starting from a higher pressure. If the increase is less then 4psi then the starting pressure is probably too high. You can run tyres at a higher pressure, some do to get better fuel economy, but you will have a harsher ride and risk wearing out the centre of your tyres prematurely.

Hope this helps....
    Cheers, John.
    LC200 V8 goodness

MY12 LC200 GXL 4.5Lt V8 twin turbo, GVM upgrade, ARB bar, Warn winch, Outback Acc rear bar and dual carrier, TJM sidesteps, Bushskinz, Long Ranger 180Lt tank, Black Widow drawers, cargo barrier, Polaris Awning, +++