NS Pajero Intake Manifold Soot Buildup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NS Pajero Intake Manifold Soot Buildup

I am new to this, sorry if this has already been discussed, after fitting a 'chip my diesel' chip and 3 inch exhaust we are having heaps of problems - we recently discovered thru a local ex Mitsubishi mechanic the Pajeros have a common fault regarding the positioning or the intake manifold and the recirculation of 'dirty/oily' air through the engine system which is causing a buildup of carbon/soot in the intake manifold - can anyone shed any light on where I can locate the official Mitsubishi service bulletins/recall notices on this issue or any other relevant info - I plan to contact Mitsubishi and seek compensation for costs incurred to resolve this matter.. Thanks in advance..
    2008 NS Pajero - 25th Anniversary

Good luck with that one. If you are still in warranty maybe but other wise not a chance.
    Worth a shot though. It's free.
    .Previously an NP GLX 3.8 auto RIP
    NS VRX DiD auto. RIP.

Comment

There was an software update I had done recently to reduce soot build up. No idea how that was meant to work - they didn't charge for it.

Not sure of a recall/update number and no idea when this was released as this was the first time the NS had been to a dealer in 2 years.
      07 NS DiD GLX Manual, Alloy Bullbar, 2" lift, Bilstein shocks, King Springs, Kumho MT51, Oricom UHF088, Prodigy P2 Brake Controller, Airtec Snorkel, Bushskinz Intercooler Guard, Boo's Sump and Tansmission Bash Plates

Comment

I had the same problem when I first purchased my ns

they replaced the map sensor to milk it past warranty

was able to go back and negotiate and get a fair deal, wasn't easy but I was happy with the out come.
        And I was the third owner

Not 100% on the clean they did for the bottom manifold but.

I don't think there is a official call back as such but its a well known problem