Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 60000 km service

Hi folks,

I've been reading the pajero forum since i bought my 2017 4 years ago.
    I just had the service dept ring me and suggested that i had my fuel injectors cleaned for $250, as he said they are starting to show signs of a tarry build up.
    I've only just done 40000 kms.
    I need your opinion as i smell a little bs. I'm not a seasoned mechanic, but it does strike me as a little opportunistic based on the limited kms i have travelled.
    I said i'd leave it to the next service, but based on the price of this service and my instinct, i think i'll get my car serviced elsewhere in 12 months and the foreseeable future.
    Thanks for your time

Smell BS? I'm surprised you haven't drowned in it.

My guess is they would put a $15 can of injector cleaner in the tank.

The only way to see if they have a tarry substance is to pull them out and I doubt they would do that.

Don't think about getting it serviced elsewhere. Just do it.

BTW. 340,000 on our NS and original never been cleaned injectors.

Comment

70,000 on mine now and never had the injectors cleaned. I always use BP Ultimate of Caltex Vortex fuel though. Tarry build up heh Don't bother if it's running fine.
      dave
      NX Pampas Cat GLS MY16
      Member 1228 Pajero Club

Comment

At 60000 they wouldnt pull the injectors out... unless you have a Pajero sport???

And if you do have a sport, the tarry build up is quite normal, and they should be cleaning that off as part of the service when they refit the injectors.

Sounds like they are full of BS either way
        White 2018 MQ Triton Sportsbar Nudge Bar Towbar EDS

Comment

Originally posted by BruceandBobbi View Post

The only way to see if they have a tarry substance is to pull them out and I doubt they would do that.

100% Agree. If bullshit was music that service department would be a symphonic orchestra!!!
          Dicko. FNQ

2014 NW with all the usual stuff plus more.